Library School Alumni Association Announces 2010 Awards

Posted: July 7, 2010

The Library School Alumni Association (LSAA) at the Graduate School of Library and Information Science (GSLIS) at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, has announced the recipients of its annual awards.

Carol Tenopir (PhD ’84) has been awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Each year this award is given to an alumnus who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of library and information science. Tenopir is being honored for her work in the areas of information access and retrieval, electronic publishing, the information industry, online resources, and the impact of technology on reference librarians and scientists. Tenopir is a professor at the School of Information Sciences at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and the Director of Research for the College of Communication and Information, and Director of the Center for Information and Communication Studies.

Jessica Moyer (MS ’03, CAS ’04) has been awarded the Leadership Award, given to an alumnus who has graduated in the past ten years and who has shown leadership in the field of library and information science. Moyer is currently a doctoral candidate at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction studying reading format choices among teenagers. She is being honored for her exceptional teaching, writing, and professional presentations. Moyer was named a Library Journal Mover and Shaker in 2008.

Lynn Hanson (MS ’90) has been honored with the Distinguished Service Award, given to a friend of GSLIS (including faculty, staff, alumni, and non-alumni) who has served LSAA or GSLIS in an exceptional way. Hanson is a long-time employee of GSLIS, having begun her career at GSLIS in 1990. She is being honored for her efforts to develop and strengthen both the practicum program as well as GSLIS’s Alternative Spring Break (ASB) program. For each, she created a robust set of online resources for participants and during her tenure, the ASB program significantly increased enrollment.

Hakim Murphy (MS ’10) is the recipient of the LSAA Student Award given to recognize a student who "caught the spirit" of the library and information science profession while employed in a library setting and so chose to enter the master's program. This student must have a strong commitment to return to a professional position in a library setting and help others "catch the spirit." Murphy began LEEP after working in the Oak Park Public Library System in a variety of areas including reference, IT, special collections, and youth services programming involving anime and poetry slam. Many at GSLIS benefited from his broad experience and creativity as well as his energy and enthusiasm, as he pursued a specialization in Community College librarianship.  Hakim is currently completing an internship in the Morton College Library in Cicero, Illinois.

These awards were given on June 27, 2010 at a reception held at the annual meeting of the ALA.

Filed Under: alumni news, honors and awards, school news