Two GSLIS students named ARL 2011-2013 Diversity Scholars

Posted: July 26, 2011

Washington, DC—The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Committee on Diversity and Leadership has selected 13 masters of library and information science (MLIS) students to participate in the 2011-2013 Initiative to Recruit a Diverse Workforce (IRDW) as ARL Diversity Scholars.

Among those named are two GSLIS students: Regina Carter and Brandon Taylor.

The ARL IRDW offers numerous financial benefits as well as leadership development offered through the annual ARL Leadership Symposium, a formal mentor program, career placement assistance, and a research library visit hosted by the Purdue University Libraries. The program is funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and by voluntary contributions from 52 ARL member libraries. This program reflects the commitment of ARL members to create a diverse academic and research library community that will better meet the challenges of changing demographics in higher education and the emphasis on global perspectives in the academy.

The 2011-2013 ARL Diversity Scholars are:

  • Regina Carter, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
  • Amber D’Ambrosio, University at Albany, SUNY
  • Carlos Duarte, University of Texas at Austin
  • Jennifer Garrett, University of British Columbia
  • Jennifer Gibson, San Jose State University
  • Don Jason, Kent State University
  • Nabil Kashyap, University of Michigan
  • Arthur Liu, Simmons College
  • Yumi Ohira, Emporia State University
  • Brandon Taylor, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
  • Megan Threats, Syracuse University
  • Sarah Velasquez, Emporia State University
  • Kimberly Yang, University of Maryland, College Park

Filed Under: honors and awards, student news, school news