honors and awards Subscribe to honors and awards


Jul. 19, 2018
Jennifer Bueche

Two iSchool alumni, Jennifer Bueche (MS '94) and Lucas McKeever (MS '13), have been selected to receive awards from the Illinois Library Association (ILA).

Jul. 12, 2018

Recent graduate Wendy Hoi Yan Wong (MS '18) has been awarded a Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) Digital Scholarship Postdoctoral Fellowship to work at The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK). The fellowship program offers scholars the chance to develop new research models, collaborate with information specialists, and explore new career opportunities. In addition to her MS/LIS degree from Illinois, Wong holds a PhD in music from CUHK.

Wong's interest in academic libraries developed while working on the Rulan Chao Pian papers as a research associate in special collections at the CUHK Library. She had previously worked as a teaching assistant and adjunct lecturer for CUHK's...

Jul. 10, 2018

Assistant Professor and PhD Program Director Jana Diesner has been named a 2018-2019 Linowes Fellow by the Cline Center for Advanced Social Research at the University of Illinois. The fellowship "provides exceptionally promising tenure-stream faculty with opportunities for innovation and discovery using the Cline Center's data holdings and/or analytic tools."

Diesner will work on her project, "Using Natural Language Processing to Measure and Understand the Description of Hurricanes Depending on the Gender of Storm Names and Geo-Location of Reporting," which is a collaboration with Sharon Shavitt, professor of business administration and psychology at Illinois; Kiju Jung, senior lecturer at the University of Sydney; Ly Dinh, PhD student at the iSchool; and the Cline Center. Previous work by Jung, Shavitt, Viswanathan, and Hilbe has shown that severe hurricanes assigned female names have caused more deaths than those assigned male names. Diesner's project involves using...

Jun. 20, 2018

Seven master's students have been named 2018-2019 Spectrum Scholars by the American Library Association (ALA) Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services. Established in 1997, the Spectrum Scholarship Program promotes diversity among graduate-level students pursuing degrees in library and information studies through ALA-accredited programs. This year, the program received three times as many applications as there were available scholarships. Scholars were selected based on their commitment to equity and inclusion, demonstrated community outreach, commitment to the library profession, academic achievements, and leadership potential.

"Over the past eight years, the iSchool at Illinois has welcomed 45 ALA Spectrum Scholars, which is the highest number among the top ten library and information science programs in the country," said Moises Orozco Villicana...

Jun. 19, 2018

The iSchool at Illinois seeks nominations for the Robert B. Downs Intellectual Freedom Award. The deadline for nominations is October 5, 2018.

Given annually, the award acknowledges individuals or groups who have furthered the cause of intellectual freedom, particularly as it impacts libraries and information centers and the dissemination of ideas. Granted to those who have resisted censorship or efforts to abridge the freedom of individuals to read or view materials of their choice, the award may be in recognition of a particular action or a long-term interest in and dedication to the cause of intellectual freedom.

The Downs Award was established in 1969 by the iSchool's faculty to honor Dean Emeritus Robert B. Downs, a champion of intellectual freedom, on the occasion of his twenty-fifth anniversary as director of the School.

Previous winners have included the Kansas City Public Library (2017) for its defense of...

Jun. 1, 2018

Kurt Munson (MS '92), assistant head of access services at Northwestern University Library, was selected as the 2018 winner of the Sharing and Transforming Resources Section's (STARS) Virginia Boucher Distinguished ILL (Interlibrary Loan) Librarian Award, sponsored by OCLC. The award consists of $2,000 and a citation, which recognizes an individual for outstanding professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery through recent publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional associations, and/or innovative approaches to practice in individual libraries.

May. 23, 2018

iSchool affiliated faculty member Clara M. Chu, Mortenson Distinguished Professor and director of the Mortenson Center for International Library Programs at the University Library, has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the American Library Association's Beta Phi Mu Award. This award is given in recognition of the achievement of a library school faculty member or another individual for distinguished service to education for librarianship. This annual award, which consists of $1,000 and a citation of achievement, is sponsored by the Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honor Society.

Chu holds a bachelor's degree from University of British Columbia and master's and doctoral degrees from the University of Western Ontario. Prior to her current position at the University of Illinois, she was a professor and department chair of the Library and Information Studies Department at University of North Carolina-Greensboro. Her previous position was as associate professor in...