Betsy Wilson named winner of Atkinson Memorial Award

Posted: February 11, 2013

betsy%20by%20cass%20for%20web.JPGAlumna Lizabeth (Betsy) A. Wilson (MS ’78) has been named the winner of the 2013 Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award. The award, jointly sponsored by four divisions of the American Library Association, recognizes an academic librarian who has worked in library automation or management for his or her significant accomplishments towards improving library services or research.

Wilson serves as the dean of university libraries at the University of Washington. Larry P. Alford, committee chair for the Atkinson Award, writes of her nomination:

"Her colleagues use phrases such as 'adroitness in moving organizations forward,' 'personal warmth,' 'a strong sense of integrity' and 'ability to focus on what is truly important,' and note her knowledge that 'understanding and valuing individuals is the key to organizational improvement and survival' in describing her leadership. It was clear to the committee that over her career Dean Wilson has nurtured and inspired her colleagues and fostered innovation to strengthen the ability of the libraries she has personally led as well as libraries across the world to serve better users of libraries."

Wilson will be recognized during the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago this summer.

Filed Under: Libraries and Librarianship, alumni news, honors and awards