The Newbery Medal at 100 Symposium

Newbery Medal at 100

Join us for a special symposium to celebrate 100 years of The Newbery Medal. The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. For more information and to register, visit the Newbery Medal at 100 web page.

Schedule of Events

Welcome iSchool Dean and Professor Eunice E. Santos
9:00-9:30 Cara Bertram, ALA Archives, University of Illinois
The Newbery in the Archives: 100 Years of Letters, Photographs, and Stories
9:30-10:30 KT Horning, Director, Cooperative Children's Book Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Striving to Do Better: A Nuts-and-Bolts History of the Newbery Medal
10:30-11:30 Panel Discussion: Experience from the Trenches
University of Illinois alumni who have served on the Newbery Committee:
Ann Kalkhoff (1974 committee)
Debra Ann McLeod (1984, 2014 committees)
Diane Foote (2010 committee)
Tad Andracki (2018, 2022 committees)
11:30-12:30 LUNCH
Afternoon Welcome Sara L. Schwebel, Director, The Center for Children's Books (CCB)
12:30-1:30 Kenneth Kidd, University of Florida
Prizes, Canons, and Classics
1:30-2:30 Jocelyn Van Tuyl, New College of Florida
Intersecting with a Fraught History: From Child Reader to Parent to Children's Lit Scholar
2:30-3:30 Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, University of Michigan
The Shadow Book: Reading Slavery, Fugitivity, and Freedom in the Newbery Canon
3:30-4:30 Join the CCB and Newbery 100th Anniversary Celebration Task Force/ALSC for a Mocktail Hour on Mock Newbery Discussions

This event is sponsored by iSchool, CCB, Association for Library Service to Children