Research Fellows

Research fellows are appointed for two-year terms. Fellows are chosen because their work is relevant to the interests of faculty and students. Their contributions add depth to our research program and enhance the overall intellectual life of our School. Each gives at least one lecture during the appointment term.

August 2023 - August 2025

  • Rebekah Fitzsimmons, Assistant Teaching Professor, Heinz College of Information Systems and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Elliott Hauser, Assistant Professor, School of Information, University of Texas Austin
  • David M. Nichols, Associate Professor, Computer Science, The University of Waikato Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato
  • Karen Nicholson, Associate Librarian, University Library, University of Guelph

August 2022 - August 2024

  • Ruth West, Professor, Department of Design, New Media, Computer Science, Information Science, Biological Sciences, University of North Texas 
  • Eric Jensen, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Warwick (UK) Advanced Visualization Lab 
  • Cindy Hood, Associate Professor, College of Computing, Illinois Institute of Technology 

August 2020 - August 2023*

  • David Bamman, Assistant Professor, School of Information, UC Berkeley
  • Leanne Bowler, Associate Professor, School of Information, Pratt Institute
  • David Moher, Director of the Centre for Journalology, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, and Associate Professor, School of Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Ottawa

August 2019 - July 2022*

  • Theresa Dirndorfer Anderson, independent scholar
  • Sarah Park Dahlen, Associate Professor, Master of Library and Information Science Program, St. Catherine University
  • Terhi Nurmikko-Fuller, Lecturer, Australian National University 

August 2018 - August 2020

  • Nathanial Osgood, Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Saskatchewan
  • John Walsh, Associate Professor, School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering, Indiana University
  • Pamela Wisniewski, Assistant Professor, College of Engineering and Computer Science, University of Central Florida

August 2017 - August 2019

  • Laurie Allen, Director for Digital Scholarship, Penn Libraries
  • Marianne Martens, Associate Professor, School of Information, Kent State University
  • David Mimno, Assistant Professor, Information Science Department, Cornell University

August 2016 - August 2018

  • Renee Franklin Hill, Senior Lecturer and Director of the School Library Specialization, College of Information Studies, University of Maryland 
  • Kafi D. Kumasi, Associate Professor, School of Library and Information Science, Wayne State University
  • Andreas Witt, Director of the Research Infrastructure Division, Institute for German Language

August 2015 - August 2017

  • Denise Agosto, Professor, College of Computing & Informatics, Drexel University
  • C. Titus Brown, Associate Professor of Genetics, Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, University of California
  • Peter Lor, Professor, Department of Information Science, University of Pretoria, South Africa

August 2014 - August 2016

  • Kristen Haring, Assistant Director and Lecturer, Science in the Making Integrated Learning Environment program, Stanford University
  • Julia Hersberger, Associate Professor, Department of Library and Information Studies, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • Rebekah Willett, Assistant Professor, The Information School, University of Wisconsin-Madison

August 2012 - August 2014

  • Raphaëlle Bats, International Relations Officer in ENSSIB (Ecole nationale des sciences de l'information et des bibliotheques) 
  • Peter Fox, Chair and Professor, Earth and Environmental Science and Computer Science, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Brian Sturm, Associate Professor at School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

August 2011 - August 2013

  • Anne Goulding (appointment extended) 
  • David De Roure, Professor of e-Research, Oxford e-Research Centre and National Strategic Director for Digital Social Research 
  • Lynette Kvasny, Associate Professor of Information Sciences and Technology, Penn State
  • Rob Procter (appointment extended)

August 2010 - August 2012

  • Anne Goulding, Reader in Information Services Management, Department of Information Science, Loughborough University, UK 
  • Christopher Lueg (appointment extended) 
  • Margaret Mackey, Professor, School of Library and Information Studies, University of Alberta 
  • Rob Procter, Professor and Research Director at the Manchester eResearch Centre

August 2009 - August 2011

  • Carl Lagoze, Senior Research Associate, Computing and Information Science, Cornell University
  • Christopher Lueg, Professor of Computing, School of Computing and Information Systems, University of Tasmania, Australia 
  • Robert Sanderson, Department of Computer Science, University of Liverpool, UK

August 2008 - August 2010

  • Allison Druin, Associate Professor in CLIS, University of Maryland, College-Park 
  • Bertram Ludäscher, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of California, Davis
  • Anna Maria Tammaro, Department of Cultural Heritage and Performing Arts, University of Parma, Italy

*Appointments extended one year due to COVID