Muhammad honored by BCALA for excellence in librarianship

Fayrene Muhammad

Fayrene Muhammad (MS '01) has been selected as the 2018 winner of the DEMCO/ALA Black Caucus Award for Excellence in Librarianship. The annual award is presented to the librarian who has made significant contributions to promote the status of African Americans in the library profession. These contributions may include, but are not limited to, research and scholarship, recruitment, professional development, planning or implementation of programs, or advocacy. Muhammad was announced as this year's winner at the Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA) meeting that took place at the 2019 ALA Midwinter Meeting.

Muhammad has worked in public, academic, and special libraries in Joliet, Warrenville, and Evanston and recently retired as the assistant director of the Rockford (IL) Public Library. She is a member of the ALA; BCALA; Public Library Association; Illinois Library Association; Rotary International; Beta Phi Mu; Afro American Historical and Genealogical Society of Northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin; Rockford African American History Council; Taus, Inc.; Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.; NAACP; and Kwanzaa 365.

"I've enjoyed working in circulation services, public services, administration, technical services, programming, community outreach, and classrooms," Muhammad said. "I am currently working on Rotary library projects in Abatete and Port Harcourt, Nigeria. The single thing I like most about being a librarian is the opportunity to serve people of all ages and stages in life. For me, it doesn't get any better than that."

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Four alumni named 2019 Movers and Shakers

Four iSchool alumni are included in Library Journal’s 2019 class of Movers & Shakers, an annual list that recognizes fifty professionals who are transforming what it means to be a librarian. Jarrett Dapier (MS '15) and Gwen Evans (MS '02) were honored in the Change Agents category; Heather Thompson (MS '13) was honored in the Educators category; and Anton Chuppin (MS '99) was honored in the Digital Developers category.

Movers & Shakers 2019

Jihan receives scholarship to attend PyCon 2019

MS/LIS student Itzel Jihan has been awarded a scholarship to attend the PyCon 2019 conference, which will be held May 1-9 in Cleveland, Ohio. The conference is the largest annual gathering for the community using and developing the open-source Python programming language. It includes tutorials, talks, events such as a poster session and job fair, and sprints, where developers collaborate on open source projects.

Itzel Jihan

ISAA seeks nominations for annual awards

The iSchool Alumni Association (ISAA) is seeking nominations for three distinguished awards. The awards are given annually at the iSchool alumni reception held at the American Library Association conference. The deadline for nomination is April 1, 2019.

Linda C. Smith named Illinois Library Luminary

Professor and Executive Associate Dean Linda C. Smith (MS '72) has been named an Illinois Library Luminary by the Illinois Library Association (ILA). This distinction honors individuals whose efforts have made a significant contribution to Illinois libraries. Smith's nearly 50-year career began when she came to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Graduate School of Library Science (now the School of Information Sciences) in 1971 shortly after graduating summa cum laude in physics and mathematics from Allegheny College (PA). She received her MS from Illinois in 1972 and spent a year at Washington University School of Medicine Library in St. Louis as a trainee in computer librarianship. She then earned an MS in information and computer science from Georgia Institute of Technology in 1975 and a PhD from Syracuse University, School of Information Studies in 1979. 

Linda Smith, Professor and Executive Associate Dean