Four alumni named 2019 Movers and Shakers

Movers & Shakers 2019

Four iSchool alumni are included in Library Journal’s 2019 class of Movers & Shakers, an annual list that recognizes fifty professionals who are transforming what it means to be a librarian. Jarrett Dapier (MS '15) and Gwen Evans (MS '02) were honored in the Change Agents category; Heather Thompson (MS '13) was honored in the Educators category; and Anton Chuppin (MS '99) was honored in the Digital Developers category.

Dapier is a young adult librarian at the Skokie (IL) Public Library. His interest in social justice and theater has led him to produce both his own original work and adaptations starring local teens, who are recruited for roles and crew positions in the library's teen volunteer program. He is currently producing a stage adaptation of Andrea Davis Pinkney's poetic tribute to Martin Luther King's life and death. His theatrical adaptation of Chris Crutcher's YA novel, The Sledding Hill, is available for free download through the ALA's Office of Intellectual Freedom.

Evans is executive director of the 118-member academic library consortium OhioLINK. She and her deputy director, Amy Pawlowski, negotiated statewide electronic textbook pricing agreements with six publishers that resulted in an estimated $39.7 million annual savings for students attending higher education institutions in Ohio. Evans devised the overall strategy, reached out to major campus stakeholders, and led marketing and implementation efforts.

Thompson is a youth services programming librarian at the Kenosha (WI) Public Library. She and Heather Beverley, children's services assistant manager for the Cook Memorial Public Library District in Libertyville (IL) created a blog,, which provides librarians worldwide with turnkey STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, mathematics) programming. Each post contains information on how to run the program, experiments and the science behind them, supply lists, and suggestions on how to adjust activities to make them age-appropriate.

Chuppin is manager of IT interfaces at the Calgary Public Library (CPL) in Canada. He led the development of a staff web interface to integrate and simplify all library, staff, and user transactions and interactions. Chuppin and his design team met with staff across 20 library branches throughout Calgary to understand their needs and practices. According to Roberta Kuzyk-Burton, learning and development specialist at CPL, with the new interface, "Staff are spending less time using the technology and can concentrate more on providing higher level customer service and delivering more programming and outreach."

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Jihan receives scholarship to attend PyCon 2019

MS/LIS student Itzel Jihan has been awarded a scholarship to attend the PyCon 2019 conference, which will be held May 1-9 in Cleveland, Ohio. The conference is the largest annual gathering for the community using and developing the open-source Python programming language. It includes tutorials, talks, events such as a poster session and job fair, and sprints, where developers collaborate on open source projects.

Itzel Jihan

ISAA seeks nominations for annual awards

The iSchool Alumni Association (ISAA) is seeking nominations for three distinguished awards. The awards are given annually at the iSchool alumni reception held at the American Library Association conference. The deadline for nomination is April 1, 2019.

Muhammad honored by BCALA for excellence in librarianship

Fayrene Muhammad (MS '01) has been selected as the 2018 winner of the DEMCO/ALA Black Caucus Award for Excellence in Librarianship. The annual award is presented to the librarian who has made significant contributions to promote the status of African Americans in the library profession. These contributions may include, but are not limited to, research and scholarship, recruitment, professional development, planning or implementation of programs, or advocacy.

Fayrene Muhammad

Linda C. Smith named Illinois Library Luminary

Professor and Executive Associate Dean Linda C. Smith (MS '72) has been named an Illinois Library Luminary by the Illinois Library Association (ILA). This distinction honors individuals whose efforts have made a significant contribution to Illinois libraries. Smith's nearly 50-year career began when she came to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Graduate School of Library Science (now the School of Information Sciences) in 1971 shortly after graduating summa cum laude in physics and mathematics from Allegheny College (PA). She received her MS from Illinois in 1972 and spent a year at Washington University School of Medicine Library in St. Louis as a trainee in computer librarianship. She then earned an MS in information and computer science from Georgia Institute of Technology in 1975 and a PhD from Syracuse University, School of Information Studies in 1979. 

Linda Smith, Professor and Executive Associate Dean