Foote named Illinois Library Luminary

Diane Foote

Diane Foote (MSLIS '06), former executive director of the Illinois Library Association (ILA), has been inducted as an Illinois Library Luminary. The Illinois Library Luminary program, an initiative of the ILA, recognizes those who have made a significant contribution to Illinois libraries.

During Foote's tenure as ILA executive director, she expanded the iREAD summer reading program to seven new states and received funding from the U.S. Department of Defense to support the program. She led the way for revising ILA's Strategic Plan, which was implemented in 2019. Throughout her career, she has demonstrated a commitment to advancing principles of diversity, equity, and inclusion. In an effort to make attendees feel safer and more comfortable at ILA events, Foote initiated a Statement of Appropriate Conduct and reporting process.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, Foote successfully applied for vital PPP funding to keep the organization afloat and pivoted conferences in 2020 and 2021 to a virtual format. She harnessed technology to the benefit of keeping members informed and in touch with each other. In addition, she worked with the ILA's Fundraising Committee to launch a brand-new donor recognition program, Illuminate Illinois.

Prior to leading the ILA, Foote served as assistant dean and curator of Butler Children's Literature Center at Dominican University; executive director of the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association (ALA); and associate editor of ALA's Book Links Magazine and worked in the publishing industry.

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

McDowell to present keynote on data storytelling

Associate Professor Kate McDowell will present the closing keynote of the Measures of Success Educator Impact Series at Western Michigan University (WMU) on March 21. The virtual series, which is sponsored by the WMUx Office of Faculty Development, focuses on equity and educator impact.

Kate McDowell

Dahlen selected as judge for National Book Awards

Associate Professor Sarah Park Dahlen has been selected by the National Book Foundation to serve as a judge for the 74th National Book Awards. The foundation chose 25 judges for this year's awards, which are given in the categories of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translated literature, and young people’s literature.

Sarah Park Dahlen

Downie to present keynote at CHIIR 2023

Professor and Associate Dean For Research J. Stephen Downie will be the keynote speaker for the 2023 ACM SIGIR Conference on Human Information Interaction and Retrieval (CHIIR 2023), which will be held on March 19-23 in Austin, Texas. In addition to information interaction and retrieval, the multidisciplinary conference explores topics such as human-human information interaction, novel interaction paradigms, new evaluation methods, and related research from various fields.

Stephen Downie

ISAA seeks nominations for annual awards

The iSchool Alumni Association (ISAA) is seeking nominations for three distinguished awards. The awards are given annually at the iSchool alumni reception held at the American Library Association conference. The deadline for nomination is April 1, 2023.

Alma Mater

Berger authors second edition of The Dictionary of the Book

Adjunct Professor Sidney Berger (MSLIS '87) has authored a new book that will provide readers with a definitive glossary of book-related terminology. In The Dictionary of the Book: A Glossary for Book Collectors, Booksellers, Librarians, and Others (2nd Edition), which was recently published by Rowman & Littlefield, he brings “the vocabulary and theory of bookselling and collecting into the modern commercial and academic world” through the addition of more than 700 new entries. 

Sidney Berger