Offenstein honored with 'Make a Difference' Award

Tim Offenstein (MS ’11), GSLIS alumnus and adjunct instructor, was recently honored with a Larine Y. Cowan "Make a Difference" Award, which is given annually by the Office of Equal Opportunity and Access (OEOA) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He received the award for Excellence in Access and Accommodations, which recognizes either individuals or campus units whose efforts expand and improve the ways in which persons with disabilities can utilize programs and structures at the University.

Offenstein, lead information design specialist at Campus Information Technologies and Educational Services (CITES), has served as the campus accessibility liaison for the ITaccess initiative established by the Provost in 2007. He has worked extensively toward web accessibility through the training and education of campus units, assisting them in improving the accessibility and code compliance of their web sites.

Nomination letters highlighted the impact of Offenstein’s achievements on the campus community, including the following testimonials:

In 1999, Tim founded the University of Illinois Webmasters to promote and celebrate accessible design. This includes hands-on workshops, an annual Webmasters Forum conference, a governing committee comprised of highly-committed volunteers, and a mailing list for hundreds of web professionals to share knowledge and promote web design best practices. In Spring 2013, the annual forum will expand from a local event to a regional conference.
Tim has a deep personal and professional commitment to eliminating technical barriers to information and resources so that our students, staff, and faculty can equally participate and excel in teaching, learning, and research.

Offenstein received the award at the 27th annual Celebration of Diversity. He was one of three campus employees honored with the "Make a Difference" Award and recognized for their efforts to create and sustain an "inclusive, respectful, and vibrant living, learning, and working community."

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Weech to speak on LIS accreditation at CoLIS

Associate Professor Terry L. Weech will discuss the accreditation of library and information studies (LIS) programs at the Conceptions of Library and Information Science (CoLIS) 10th international conference, which will take place on June 16-19 in Ljubljana, Slovenia. The conference aims to provide a broad forum for the exploration of ideas in the field of LIS, information studies, and related disciplines.

Terry L Weech

Bosch presents research on measuring learning outcomes at UMAP

Assistant Professor Nigel Bosch presented his research and served as a session chair at the ACM Conference on User Modeling, Adaptation, and Personalization (UMAP), which was held June 9-12 in Larnaca, Cyprus. UMAP is an international conference for researchers and practitioners working on systems that adapt to individual users and groups of users and that collect, represent, and model user information. The theme of this year's conference was "Making Personalization Transparent: Giving Control Back to the User."

Nigel Bosch

Ludäscher Lab to present research at Philadelphia Logic Week

Professor Bertram Ludäscher will be presenting research with group members during Philadelphia Logic Week 2019. The event, which will be held from June 3-7 at St. Joseph's University, brings together several conferences dedicated to the research on logic, knowledge representation, reasoning, transformations and provenance.

Bertram Ludäscher

Illinois High School District 214 named National School Library of the Year

High School District 214, located in Arlington Heights, Illinois, is the recipient of the American Association of School Librarians' (AASL) 2019 National School Library of the Year Award. Sponsored by Follett, the annual award honors a single school or district-wide school library that exemplifies implementation of AASL's "National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries." High School District 214 has an iSchool connection: two of the district’s librarians, Dawn Ferencz and Kim Miklusak, have participated in the School's continuing education program.