Center for Children's Books honors English with Gryphon Award

skateboardparty.jpg?itok=2j5AF3FL Skateboard Party, written by Karen English, illustrated by Laura Freeman, and published by Clarion Books, is the winner of the 2015 Gryphon Award for Children’s Literature.

The Gryphon Award, which includes a $1,000 prize, is given annually by The Center for Children’s Books. This year’s committee was chaired by Deborah Stevenson, director of the Center for Children’s Books, and Kate Quealy-Gainer, assistant editor of the Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books.

The prize is awarded to the author of an outstanding English language work of fiction or nonfiction for which the primary audience is children in kindergarten through fourth grade, and which best exemplifies those qualities that successfully bridge the gap in difficulty between books for reading aloud to children and books for practiced readers. With a core of regular committee members, the award has become a way to contribute to an ongoing conversation about literature for inexperienced readers and to draw attention to the literature that offers, in many different ways, originality, accessibility, and high quality for that audience.

“English takes the classic setting of the grade school classroom and makes it thoroughly modern, with details kids will instantly recognize,” said Stevenson. “She treats her protagonist and by extension her readers with sympathy and humor, understanding the issues they face and matter-of-factly reassuring them that they can indeed survive late classroom assignments and annoying older siblings.”

9781596437173.jpg?itok=0sU_NJHB Three Gryphon Honors also were named:

Gravity (Porter/Roaring Brook), written and illustrated by Jason Chin, combines clear and straightforward text with a fantastical visual narrative about a gravity-less world that brings home the scientific concept and invites readers to consider it in a brand new way.

The Slug (Tundra), written and illustrated by Elise Gravel, an irresistible entry in the Disgusting Creatures series, uses goofy wit and fresh, contemporary art to turn basic scientific exploration of the humble slug into something funny, fascinating, and delightfully gross.

18811413_1.jpg?itok=U9E35UyRMaddy Kettle: The Adventure of the Thimblewitch (Top Shelf), written and illustrated by Eric Orchard, is a lively fantasy graphic novel filled with action and atmospheric art that’s sure to draw kids whose visual sophistication races ahead of their reading skills.

 The Gryphon Award was established in 2004 as a way to focus attention on transitional reading. “Every year, we’re able to expand our conversation about the kind of books that bring children from basic decoding to reading for plot, for information, and for pleasure," Stevenson said. “It’s our way of extending a hand to young readers at that stage, and to practitioners and educators looking for books to excite kids about growing as readers.”

The award committee consists of members drawn from the youth services faculty of GSLIS, the editorial staff of the Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, public and school librarians, and the library and education community at large.

MaddyKettle.jpg?itok=4zb6hFZzThe award is sponsored by the Center for Children's Books and funded by the Center for Children's Books Gryphon Fund. Income from the fund supports the annual Gryphon Lecture as well as the Gryphon Award for children's literature. Gifts may be made to the fund by contacting Diana Stroud in the Office of Advancement at 217-244-9577.

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Project on international students and libraries leads to graduate research award

iSchool master's students Laura Rocco and Elise Feltman are the recipients of the first Robert Howerton Graduate Student Research Award from the University Library. The award financially supports students who hold a pre-professional graduate assistantship position at the library and who are engaged in research regarding reference and technical services with plans to publish their work.

Laura Rocco and Elise Feltman

Oates receives digital preservation award

Anna Oates (MS '18) won the National Records of Scotland Award for the Most Outstanding Student Work in Digital Preservation for her master's thesis work on the PDF/A standard. She received the award on November 29 at a ceremony at the Amsterdam Museum, as part of an international conference hosted by the Dutch Digital Heritage Network and the Amsterdam Museum on World Digital Preservation Day. According to the Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC), who sponsored the awards, this year marked the greatest number of nominations the organization has received to date, and those selected as finalists faced tough competition from entries across the world.

Anna Oates

iSchool doctoral students win ASIS&T design competition

A team composed of two iSchool PhD students, Ly Dinh and Jessica Cheng, and a PhD student from the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, Li-Min (Cassandra) Huang, won the ASIS&T 2018 Student Design Competition. The competition was held on November 13 during the ASIS&T Annual Meeting in Vancouver, Canada.

Dinh & Cheng design team

Shasteen receives the 2018 Polestar Award

Adjunct Lecturer Ruth Shasteen (CAS '13) has received the 2018 Polestar Award from the Association of Illinois School Library Educators (AISLE) for her contributions to school librarianship. Shasteen served as district librarian at Neoga CUSD and high school librarian at Central A&M High School in Moweaqua, both in the state of Illinois. In addition to being a school librarian, she also taught for many years in Illinois classrooms at Sullivan Jr. High School, Sullivan High School, and Bethany Jr-Sr. High School. 

Ruth Shasteen

Mishra wins award for best student paper

Doctoral student Shubhanshu Mishra won the Best Student Paper Award at the Workshop on Informetric and Scientometric Research (SIG/MET), which was held on November 10 in conjunction with the ASIS&T 2018 Annual Meeting in Vancouver, Canada. Sponsored by Elsevier, the award recognizes achievement in student presentation in the following criteria: design of the study, originality, relevance to the workshop, and adherence to research ethics.