Seven iSchool students named 2018-2019 ALA Spectrum Scholars

Seven master's students have been named 2018-2019 Spectrum Scholars by the American Library Association (ALA) Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services. Established in 1997, the Spectrum Scholarship Program promotes diversity among graduate-level students pursuing degrees in library and information studies through ALA-accredited programs. This year, the program received three times as many applications as there were available scholarships. Scholars were selected based on their commitment to equity and inclusion, demonstrated community outreach, commitment to the library profession, academic achievements, and leadership potential.

"Over the past eight years, the iSchool at Illinois has welcomed 45 ALA Spectrum Scholars, which is the highest number among the top ten library and information science programs in the country," said Moises Orozco Villicana, director of enrollment management. "We are proud of the impressive work of our past scholars that has led to a degree completion rate of one hundred percent, and we look forward to supporting and ensuring the success of the 2018-2019 cohort of ALA Spectrum Scholars."

The Spectrum Scholarship recipients at Illinois are:

  • Aicha Azzaoui
  • Xena Becker
  • Lizette De La Mora
  • Ashley Nicole Long
  • Cynthia Medrano Torres
  • Teresa Helena Moreno
  • Jennifer Patino

"We look forward to welcoming these new scholars and helping them enhance their Spectrum experience," said Assistant Professor and MS/LIS Program Director Nicole A. Cooke.

Each scholar receives $5,000 to assist with educational costs as well as more than $1,500 to attend the Spectrum Leadership Institute held during the ALA Annual Conference. In addition, the iSchool matches this diversity scholarship by providing each recipient with a tuition waiver. Illinois residents receive a grant from the Sylvia Murphy Williams Fund, given by the Illinois Library Association. Other benefits include continuing education and professional development opportunities, peer mentoring, and access to a large alumni network.

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

iSchool alumni selected for PLA Leadership Academy

Midori Clark (MS '17), director of community relations, development & strategic initiatives for the Pueblo (CO) City-County Library District; Amita Lonial (MS '09), assistant director of the Tacoma (WA) Public Library; and Nataliya Papushina (MS '15), branch supervisor for the Indian Trails Public Library District in Wheeling (IL) are among the twenty-eight public librarians selected to participate in the Spring 2019 PLA Leadership Academy, which will be held March 25-29 in Chicago.

Elsessers invest $1 million in the School of Information Sciences

A $1-million dollar gift from Lionelle (BA, LAS '66; MS, LIS '67) and James (BS, Business '66; MS, Business '67) Elsesser will both expand the iSchool's academic programs and support the recruitment of promising students. The gift will be invested in the School's new programs, and that investment will generate $50,000 annually for the Katharine L. Sharp Scholarships, which will be available to students in all iSchool programs.

James and Lionelle Elsesser

Get to know Sharon Han, MS student

It was her interest in understanding how people seek and use information, particularly STEM-related information, that inspired Sharon Han to pursue her MS/LIS degree. At Illinois, she has gained experience as a graduate assistant in the Funk ACES Library and a research assistant for the Young Researchers project. 

Sharon Han

Project on international students and libraries leads to graduate research award

iSchool master's students Laura Rocco and Elise Feltman are the recipients of the first Robert Howerton Graduate Student Research Award from the University Library. The award financially supports students who hold a pre-professional graduate assistantship position at the library and who are engaged in research regarding reference and technical services with plans to publish their work.

Laura Rocco and Elise Feltman