iSchool instructors ranked as excellent

Forty-one iSchool instructors were named in the University's List of Teachers Ranked as Excellent for Spring 2020. The rankings are released every semester, and results are based on the Instructor and Course Evaluation System (ICES) questionnaire forms maintained by Measurement and Evaluation in the Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning. Only those instructors who gave out ICES forms during the semester and who released their data for publication are included in the list.

Faculty and instructors appearing on the list include Barbara Alvarez, Anne Barnhart, Sara Benson, Nigel Bosch, Emilie Butt, Dan Cermak, Anita Say Chan, Jessica Cheng, Inkyung Choi, Anne Craig, Peter Darch, Jana Diesner, Ly Dinh, Karen Egan, Quinn Morgan Ferris, Merinda Hensley, Jeanne Holba-Puacz, Lori Kendall, Kathryn La Barre, Rachel M. Magee, Bonnie Mak, Scott Matheson, Kristen Mattson, Jill Naiman, Caroline Nappo, Ann Ohms, Judith Pintar, Kate Quealy-Gainer, Melissa Salrin, Fred Schlipf, Ruth Shasteen, Yoo-Seong Song, Aiko Takazawa, Jennifer Hain Teper, Carol Tilley, Yang Wang, John Weible, Elizabeth Wickes, Martin Wolske, Melissa Wong, and Beth Woodard.

Chan, Ferris, Holba-Puacz, Magee, Mattson, Pintar, Salrin, Teper, and Wong received the highest ranking of "outstanding."

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Alteri joins Center for Children’s Books

Suzan Alteri joined the iSchool this month as assistant director of the Center for Children's Books (CCB). In her new position, she will foster cross-campus and community collaborations around youth media and literature, teach courses on children's literature, and manage the day-to-day operations of the CCB.

Suzan Alteri

Tilley shares comics research at European universities

Associate Professor Carol Tilley shared her expertise in comics research at several invited talks in Europe this month. Tilley served as the keynote speaker for the international conference, “Comics, the Children and Childishness,” at Ghent University in Belgium. In her keynote, “Re-Centering Children in Comics,” she encouraged researchers studying comics and children to give more focus to the lived experiences of young people, moving away from an over-reliance on studying specific texts or their uses. 

Carol Tilley

Knox testifies before U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee on book bans

Associate Professor Emily Knox testified before the U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary on September 12. She was one of five witnesses offering testimony for the hearing "Book Bans: Examining How Censorship Limits Liberty and Literature." 

Emily Knox

Martinez joins the iSchool’s IT team

Patrick Martinez joined the iSchool this month as an endpoint services specialist. In his new position, he will work closely with faculty and staff to assist with their IT issues, needs, and concerns.

Patrick Martinez headshot

McDowell examines benefits and obstacles of library data storytelling

The effective use of data storytelling could positively impact public library managers' approaches to data collection and their advocacy for libraries, according to Associate Professor Kate McDowell. However, cultural roadblocks to data storytelling must be addressed for the process to be successful, McDowell discovered in a recently completed study.

Kate McDowell