MS/LIS students win first prize at DCMI 2022 Student Forum

MS/LIS student Katie Colson and Cora Godfrey (MS/LIS '22) won first prize for their paper at the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative (DCMI) conference's student forum. The conference, which supports innovation in metadata design and best practices across the metadata ecology, was held virtually on October 3-7.

In the paper, "Makerspace Metadata Schema," the students discussed their project to use metadata to create a more navigable workspace for the Champaign-Urbana Community Fab Lab. For the project, they developed a metadata schema—labeling system used for recording cataloging information—that will create a structure and organization to allow findability, while remaining simple to use for Fab Lab staff and patrons. Teaching Assistant Professor Inkyung Choi served as supervisor for their work.

Katie Colson & Cora Godfrey
Katie Colson and Cora Godfrey

"From our content analysis of the Fab Lab's resources, we were able to develop a guideline that would help staff know what information to collect in order to help their resources become more findable," said Godfrey, who is now working as a library specialist at the University of Texas at Austin.

The students focused on developing the guideline outside of any hosting platform to allow for flexibility. Colson, who continues to work with the Fab Lab on the project, will use the schema they created as information architecture for the lab's website and establish metadata that will allow for nuanced searching of their terms.

"I was excited to pursue this project because my area of interest is in knowledge organization, specifically working to find the best way to create a web of information to connect people to resources," she said. "I want to pursue that goal through cataloging or metadata work with the goal of helping libraries move into the future. I envision an interconnected library with the ability to connect patrons easily to diverse, in-depth, multi-perspective, and accurate resources."

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Internship Spotlight: State Farm

BSIS student Evan Chen discusses his summer internship at State Farm, where he developed an interest in computer vision.

Evan Chen

iSchool researchers present at 4S 2023

iSchool faculty, staff, and students presented their research at the Society for Social Studies of Science (4S) annual conference, which was held from November 8-11 in Honolulu, Hawaii. The society is an international, nonprofit association that fosters interdisciplinary scholarship in social studies of science, technology, and medicine. 

Smalheiser named ACMI Fellow

Affiliate Professor Neil Smalheiser, professor of psychiatry at the University of Illinois Chicago, is one of twenty-three new Fellows inducted into the American College of Medical Informatics (ACMI). New Fellows are elected annually to the College by the 473-member body of Fellows.

Neil R Smalheiser

iSchool International: Studying abroad in Barcelona

BSIS student Pablo Quispe discusses his study abroad in Barcelona, Spain, a place he selected because of its rich cultural heritage, world-renowned cuisine, and vibrant social scene. So far, he has enjoyed "every second" of his experience. 

Pablo Quispe

Internship Spotlight: SAP

MSIM student Yashas Prashanth discusses his internship at the multinational software company SAP. The experience helped him to better understand the development and management of applications and information systems in an industrial setting.

Yashas Prashanth