iSchool researchers receive best paper award at TrustNLP

Sullam Jeoung
Sullam Jeoung
Jana Diesner
Jana Diesner, Affiliate Associate Professor
Halil Kilicoglu
Halil Kilicoglu, Associate Professor

A paper coauthored by PhD student Sullam Jeoung, Associate Professor Jana Diesner, and Associate Professor Halil Kilicoglu was named Best Long Paper at TrustNLP: Third Workshop on Trustworthy Natural Language Processing, which was held in conjunction with the Annual Conference of the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL 2023). In their paper, "Examining the Causal Impact of First Names on Language Models: The Case of Social Commonsense Reasoning," the researchers discuss how the use of first names in language models can impact their trustworthiness.

"Language models are increasingly used and deployed across various applications and domains that engage with users, ranging from some recent popular models such as ChatGPT and Bard to applications such as AI counseling," explained Jeoung. "As language models are used in circumstances where social intelligence and commonsense reasoning are becoming important, it is imperative to ensure the trustworthiness of language models."

Through a controlled experiment to measure the causal effect of first names on reasoning, the researchers were able to distinguish between model predictions due to chance and those caused by factors of interest. Their results indicate that the frequency of first names in a model has a direct effect on its prediction.

"Our findings suggest that to ensure model robustness, it is essential to augment datasets with more diverse first names during the configuration stage," said Jeoung.

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

iSchool undergraduates selected as 2024 Community Academic Scholars

The Interdisciplinary Health Sciences Institute (IHSI), in partnership with the Center for Social and Behavioral Science and with support from the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion, has selected BSIS students Sophie Chiewtrakoon and Madisen LeShoure as 2024 Community-Academic Scholars. The 17 scholars in this cohort represent seven colleges and schools and encompass a diverse array of fields of study, from community health to education to industrial design.  

Introductory course teaches information science concepts through game design

As part of Teaching Associate Professor Judith Pintar's Introduction to Information Sciences (IS 101) course, students are tasked with creating board games that teach various aspects of information science targeted to particular audiences. The students presented their creations on April 19 at the Game Studies and Design Spring 2024 Showcase. In addition to the game demonstrations, the event featured posters and presentations by students and faculty.

2023 Downs Intellectual Freedom Award given to Missouri Library Association’s Intellectual Freedom Committee

For its educational programming and advocacy work in support of the right to read, the Missouri Library Association's Intellectual Freedom Committee (IFC) has been named the 2023 recipient of the Robert B. Downs Intellectual Freedom Award. The award is given annually by the School of Information Sciences at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and is co-sponsored by Sage, a global academic publisher of books, journals, and library resources.

Knox recognized for public engagement

Associate Professor Emily Knox has been selected as the recipient of the Campus Excellence in Public Engagement Emerging Award. She will be honored on May 28 at a special event hosted by the Office of Public Engagement. 

Emily Knox