iSchool instructors ranked as excellent

iSchool Building

Fifty iSchool instructors were named in the University's List of Teachers Ranked as Excellent for Spring 2023. The rankings are released every semester, and results are based on the Instructor and Course Evaluation System (ICES) questionnaire forms maintained by Measurement and Evaluation in the Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning. Only those instructors who gave out ICES forms during the semester and who released their data for publication are included in the list.

Faculty and instructors appearing on the list include Barbara Alvarez, Sara Benson, Crystal Betts-Green, Nigel Bosch, Bobby Bothmann, Janaynne Carvalho do Amaral, Esme Codell, Anne Craig, Sarah Park Dahlen, Rachel Dankert, Laurel Darling, Linda Diekman, J. Stephen Downie, Karen Egan, Quinn Morgan Ferris, James Hahn, Ruohua (Julia) Han, Renee Hendricks, Rebecca Hodson, Elizabeth Hoiem, Jeanne Holba-Puacz, Tzu-Kun (Esther) Hsiao, Matthew Kollmer, Zoe LeBlanc, Christopher Lueg, Thomas MacMullen, Rachel M. Magee, Jessie Maimone, Kristen Mattson, Kate McDowell, Amanda McLellan, Bradley Miller, Christy Moss, Melissa Newell, Kate Quealy-Gainer, Bethany Radcliffe, Zoe Revell, Dominic Saebeler, Jodi Schneider, Yoo-Seong Song, Kevin Trainor, Ted Underwood, Dong Wang, John Weible, Elizabeth Wickes, Karen Wickett, Martin Wolske, Michael Wonderlich, Melissa Wong, and Yang Zhang.

Alvarez, Diekman, Downie, Ferris, Kollmer, Mattson, McLellan, Song, and Wong received the highest ranking of "outstanding."

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Tilley shares comics research at European universities

Associate Professor Carol Tilley shared her expertise in comics research at several invited talks in Europe this month. Tilley served as the keynote speaker for the international conference, “Comics, the Children and Childishness,” at Ghent University in Belgium. In her keynote, “Re-Centering Children in Comics,” she encouraged researchers studying comics and children to give more focus to the lived experiences of young people, moving away from an over-reliance on studying specific texts or their uses. 

Carol Tilley

Knox testifies before U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee on book bans

Associate Professor Emily Knox testified before the U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary on September 12. She was one of five witnesses offering testimony for the hearing "Book Bans: Examining How Censorship Limits Liberty and Literature." 

Emily Knox

McDowell examines benefits and obstacles of library data storytelling

The effective use of data storytelling could positively impact public library managers' approaches to data collection and their advocacy for libraries, according to Associate Professor Kate McDowell. However, cultural roadblocks to data storytelling must be addressed for the process to be successful, McDowell discovered in a recently completed study.

Kate McDowell

CCB to mark the 60th anniversary of the Birmingham church bombing with new website, programs

On September 15, 1963, four little girls had their lives cut short in a bomb blast at the 16th Street Baptist Church in Birmingham, Alabama. This tragic event, which drew international attention to the civil rights movement in the U.S., is a pivotal moment in The Watsons Go to Birmingham – 1963, the Newbery Honor-winning book by children's author Christopher Paul Curtis. Next week, several organizations, including the iSchool's Center for Children's Books (CCB), are partnering on events for young people in Birmingham to mark the 60th anniversary of the bombing.

Watsons Go to Birmingham event flyer