First place win for MS/IM students’ hackathon team

Three iSchool students were on the winning team at PygHack 2018, a 24-hour hackathon that brings together coders, designers, engineers, and dreamers to work together to create something that can benefit the community or an organization in Champaign-Urbana. This year's event was held on September 29-30 at the University of Illinois Research Park. PygHack projects were judged on community benefit, collaboration, design, functioning prototype, and innovation. 

MS/IM students Siran (Terry) Dai, Jianzhang Chen, and Yinan (Lynn) Ni teamed up with Joshua Wu, an undergraduate in Computer Science, and Zhaoqin Wang, a PhD student in Agricultural and Biological Engineering, on a fleet fuel management project. Their team placed first out of sixteen teams—winning $1,500 cash, Huawei tablets, dinner with the Granular Engineering Leadership Team, and one month of office space at Lodgic Everyday Community in Champaign.

PygHack 2018 team
Jianzhang Chen, Siran (Terry) Dai, Yinan (Lynn) Ni, Zhaoqin Wang, and Joshua Wu
Photo by Veronica Mullen

Their winning project tackles the Urbana Fleet Fuel Management problem, which tries to find trends in gas station prices and vehicle fueling behaviors based on the fleet credit card transactions data regarding the fuel station, amount of fuel, vehicle ID, vehicle mileage, etc. In addition to answering questions about price and behavior, the project includes a dynamic route recommendation system that calculates the route between a start point and a destination, looks at all of the gas stations that are reachable along the route, and then recommends a gas station. 

"The gas station recommendation can be optimized for the cost (i.e., it will recommend the gas station with the cheapest prices while taking into account the fuel lost by making a detour to the station) or for time (i.e., it will recommend the gas station that is fastest and cheapest to get to)," Dai explained. "Our team also built reusable, interactive dashboards for fleet manager monitoring the gas station prices and vehicle fueling behaviors in real time, which can save more time to make the best use of the data."

Dai expressed his gratitude to the iSchool for giving him the opportunity to learn new skills in information sciences and meet talented students with different backgrounds and skillsets.

"I really enjoyed the collaboration with our teammates during the whole process," he said. "Every one of us has an expertise in problem solving (coding, data analysis, business research, web development, etc.). It was really exciting to work together and make this great project!"

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Get to know Jenny Bruxvoort, MS student

After she graduates next month, master's student Jenny Bruxvoort will move to Oregon to work as a research and instruction librarian at George Fox University. The job will combine her interest in academic libraries and her desire to support students.

Jenny Bruxvoort

Hoiem recognized by ChLA as emerging scholar

Assistant Professor Elizabeth Hoiem has been named the 2019 recipient of the Judith Plotz Emerging Scholar Award, which is given annually by the Children's Literature Association (ChLA). The award recognizes an outstanding article of literary criticism by an early career scholar on the topic of children's literature within a given year.

Elizabeth Hoiem

Han Wins 2019 LITA/Ex Libris Student Writing Award

Master's student Sharon Han has been selected as the winner of the 2019 Student Writing Award sponsored by Ex Libris Group and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA) for her paper titled "Weathering the Twitter Storm: Early Uses of Social Media as a Disaster Response Tool for Public Libraries During Hurricane Sandy."

Sharon Han

Lawrence to present at popular culture conference

Doctoral candidate E.E. Lawrence will present at the 2019 Popular Culture Association National Conference, which will be held April 17-20 in Washington, D.C. Lawrence will give the talk, "Should the Public Library Promote Popular Fiction?," during the Libraries, Archives & Museum area's "Collections" session.

EE Lawrence