iSchool alumnus honors Linda C. Smith through gift to School

Richard Pearce-Moses

Professor Emerita Linda C. Smith was the first person that Richard Pearce-Moses (MS '01) contacted after discovering that Illinois offered an ALA-accredited library and information science program online. He was interested in pursuing his MS/LIS degree through the School’s Leep program but had missed the application deadline by a few days.

"Fortunately, there was a note that applications would be accepted as long as there was room in the program," he recalled. "I immediately sent a note asking if space was available. It was in the evening—late evening in Illinois—and I had an answer from Linda in minutes. Her responses were always so quick that I teased her that she had a T-1 connection wired into her head."

Pearce-Moses, who also holds a master's in American studies, had been working as an archivist for almost twenty years when he applied to the Leep program. When he started his MS/LIS studies, he was working at the Heard Museum but by graduation had moved to the Arizona State Library and Archives. His last position before retiring was as director of the Master of Archival Studies program at Clayton State University.

Smith's dedication to LIS education includes establishing an endowed fund at the iSchool, the Harold Ladd Smith Jr. and Flora Lancaster Smith Endowment Fund for Student Travel, in honor of her parents.

Inspired by Smith's generosity at the iSchool, Pearce-Moses and his husband, Frank Loulan, created an endowed scholarship for students in the Master of Archival Studies program at Clayton.

"I wanted to acknowledge Linda's contributions to the profession by supporting her efforts to provide opportunities for people to join the field," he said.

Pearce-Moses has made a commitment to donate $5k to the Harold Ladd Smith Jr. and Flora Lancaster Smith Endowment Fund. He challenges fellow alumni to match his contribution, as a way of congratulating Smith on her recent retirement from the School.

"I believe that being a professional is a lot more than just having knowledge and skills to do a job. Being a professional means being committed to more than yourself, being committed to the larger community—participating in and supporting the work of professional organizations, working with others to use our expertise to make the world a better place, and building relationships with others that enrich our lives and the lives of others. All professionals can give time and energy," said Pearce-Moses. "I hope that those who are able will also contribute money to foster the next generation of professionals."

For more information on making a gift to the Harold Ladd Smith Jr. and Flora Lancaster Smith Endowment Fund, or the Linda C. Smith Doctoral Student Endowment Fund, visit the School's online giving page or contact the iSchool Advancement Office at or (217) 244-9577.

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

2019 ISAA award recipients recognized

The iSchool Alumni Association (ISAA) honored its 2019 award recipients at the ISAA annual meeting and reception, which was held on June 23 during the annual meeting of the American Library Association in Washington, DC.

iSchool alumni selected for 2019 ALA Leadership Institute

Anne Miskewitch (MS '05), deputy director for Schaumburg Township District Library, and Elisandro Cabada (MS '17), medical and bioengineering librarian at the University of Illinois, have been selected from a highly competitive pool of applicants to participate in the American Library Association Leadership Institute.

Illinois High School District 214 named National School Library of the Year

High School District 214, located in Arlington Heights, Illinois, is the recipient of the American Association of School Librarians' (AASL) 2019 National School Library of the Year Award. Sponsored by Follett, the annual award honors a single school or district-wide school library that exemplifies implementation of AASL's "National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries." High School District 214 has an iSchool connection: two of the district’s librarians, Dawn Ferencz and Kim Miklusak, have participated in the School's continuing education program.

Ruan receives CALA Distinguished Service Award

Lian Ruan (MS '90, PhD '11) has been selected as the recipient for the 2019 Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) Distinguished Service Award. According to the announcement from CALA, "Dr. Ruan has been dedicated to Chinese-American librarianship throughout her career. She has committed to the growth and integrity of CALA as a strong ethnic professional association through her outstanding leadership [as Vice-President, President, and Executive Director], passionate activism, and professional involvement."

Lian Ruan

First professorship established at the iSchool

The iSchool is pleased to announce the establishment of its first endowed professorship, the Mildred M. Luther and Kathryn Luther Henderson Professorship in Preservation and Technical Services. The professorship was established through the generosity of Mildred Luther (1926-2017), a loyal Illinois employee and alumna with a special family connection to the School.

Mildred Luther