Indaba to examine libraries, librarianship, and library education

Grainger Engineering Library

The iSchool is hosting a special two-day gathering, INDABA: Why Libraries? Why Librarians?, from November 15-16. All are invited, and remote participants can join online. The event will be recorded.

At this year's Indaba, faculty, alumni, students, and friends will gather together to consider what makes a library, what makes a librarian, and how library education might adjust toward what is important in librarianship.

"This semester we have new leadership in place guiding the School and the MS/LIS program," said Associate Professor Kate Williams, one of the event organizers. "It is a great time for the School to go beyond the day-to-day work and strengthen our collective understanding of the current and future importance of librarianship and related work for which we prepare so many of our students."

The 29th Annual Mortenson Distinguished Lecture will kick off the Indaba on Friday, November 15. Reggie Raju, director of research and learning of the University of Cape Town Libraries, and Jaya Raju, professor and head of the Department of Knowledge and Information Stewardship at the University of Cape Town, will present, "The Evolving Library Profession and Education Driving Social Justice: A Perspective from the Global South."

Speakers on Saturday, November 16, will include, among others, a number of iSchool alumni:

  • Carol Inskeep (MS '99), librarian at The Urbana Free Library
  • Joyce Latham (PhD '07), Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee School of Information Studies
  • Lacy Spraggins McDonald (MS '11), manager of the Genealogy & Local History Library branch of The Hayner Public Library District in Alton, Illinois
  • Bharat Mehra (PhD '04), Professor and EBSCO Endowed Chair in Social Justice, School of Library and Information Studies at the University of Alabama
  • Lian Ruan (MS '90, PhD '11), Director, Illinois Fire Service Library
  • Robert Wedgeworth (MS '61), member of the Institute of Museum and Library Services Board and University Librarian Emeritus

The Indaba is sponsored by the iSchool, Community Informatics Research Lab, and the Mortenson Center for International Library Programs. The 29th Annual Mortenson Distinguished Lecture is co-sponsored by the Center for African Studies, the Center for Global Studies through support from the U.S. Department of Education's Title VI NRC Program, the International and Area Studies Library, and the iSchool. Registration is encouraged, as meals will be provided.

Visit the event website for program, speakers, streaming, and bibliography.

Research Areas:
Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

2019 Guide to Gift Books now available

The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books has released the 2019 Guide Book to Gift Books. This annual publication, available as a free downloadable pdf, highlights over one hundred of the best books for giving and receiving. 

BCCB holiday gift guide

Get to Know: Candy Edwards, Office Administrator

Our School is grateful for talented and dedicated staff, who contribute greatly to our teaching and research excellence. This "Get to Know" series highlights our staff, sharing their friendly faces and stories of professional success.

Candy Edwards

2019 Downs Intellectual Freedom Award given to the Education Justice Project

For its defense of the First Amendment rights of incarcerated individuals, the Education Justice Project (EJP) has earned the 2019 Robert B. Downs Intellectual Freedom Award. EJP is a social justice and academic community of incarcerated students, educators, formerly incarcerated individuals, family members of the incarcerated, and others. Based at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, EJP offers educational programs to eligible individuals incarcerated at Danville Correctional Center (DCC), a men’s medium-security state prison 35 miles from the Urbana campus.

EJP library at the Danville Correctional Center

Library Trends bilingual issue explores Cuban librarianship

For the first time in the journal’s history, Library Trends has published a bilingual issue. Communities and Technologies: Realities, Challenges, and Opportunities for Librarians in Cuba was edited by Kate Williams, iSchool associate professor; Pedro Urra González, professor of information technologies at the University of Havana’s School of Library and Information Sciences; and Professor Yohannis Martí-Lahera, professor, director of information, and director of the Central Library at the University of Havana.

Cuban flag

NAGAP magazine features Moises Orozco Villicana

Moises Orozco Villicana, director of enrollment management at the iSchool, was featured in the fall 2019 issue of Perspectives, the magazine of NAGAP, which is the Association for Graduate Enrollment Management. In the interview, "A Candid Conversation on Increasing Enrollment of Underrepresented Students in Graduate School," Orozco Villicana described his personal motivations for pursuing higher education, his experiences working with underrepresented students, and some of the challenges associated with the recruitment and retention of students of color. He also presented on this topic at the 2019 NAGAP Annual Conference earlier this year.

Photo of Moises Orozco Villicana, Director of Enrollment Management