Tilley to serve on 2020 Ringo Awards jury

Carol Tilley
Carol Tilley, Associate Professor

Associate Professor Carol Tilley has been selected as a judge for the 2020 Ringo Awards for achievement in comic books. Tilley is part of a five-member esteemed jury representing a cross-section of the comic book industry, which includes educators, publishers, press, and creators across numerous genres. Among her fellow jury members is Gene Luen Yang, a recent MacArthur Fellow and the Library of Congress' fifth National Ambassador for Young People's Literature. Unlike other professional industry awards, the Mike Wieringo (Ringo) Comic Book Industry Awards include fan participation in the nomination process.

"I'm honored to be a judge for the 2020 Ringo Awards, which celebrate in part the connections comics help make between creators and fans," said Tilley. "The comics industry—like nearly every creative industry—is undergoing profound changes due to COVID-19, making it even more essential to recognize the people who make such outstanding storytelling through a combination of words and images possible. My experience serving as a juror for the Will Eisner Comics Industry Awards in 2016 taught me that even after nearly fifty years of reading comics and more than twenty years of studying them, I still have so much to learn about them. I have no doubt that my experience as a Ringo Awards juror will reveal the same."

The 2020 Ringo Awards will be presented on October 24 at the Baltimore Comic-Con.

At the iSchool, Tilley teaches courses in comics reader's advisory, media literacy, and youth services librarianship. Part of her scholarship focuses on the intersection of young people, comics, and libraries, particularly in the United States during the mid-twentieth century. Her research on anti-comics advocate Fredric Wertham has been featured in The New York Times and other media outlets. An in-demand speaker on the history of comics readership and libraries, Tilley was a 2016 Will Eisner Comics Industry Awards judge and is a past president of the Comics Studies Society.

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Tilley to serve on Lynd Ward Prize jury

Associate Professor Carol Tilley has been selected to serve as a judge for the 2022 Lynd Ward Graphic Novel Prize, which is presented to the best graphic novel, fiction or nonfiction, published in the previous year by a living U.S. or Canadian citizen or resident. The annual award is sponsored by Penn State University Libraries and administered by the Pennsylvania Center for the Book, an affiliate of the Center for the Book at the Library of Congress.

Carol Tilley

iSchool researchers receive funding for napari plugin project

A new project led by Assistant Professor Matthew Turk is among the napari plugin projects that have recently received support from the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative (CZI) in its effort to advance bioimaging technologies. Visiting Research Scientist Christopher Havlin will serve as co-principal investigator on the project, "Enabling Access To Multi-resolution Data."

Matthew Turk

New project focuses on rare categories

Associate Professor Jingrui He has been awarded a three-year, $500,000 grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to develop explainable techniques to detect and track rare categories. For her project, "RareXplain: A Computational Framework for Explainable Rare Category Analysis," she will focus on real-world problems where underrepresented, rare (abnormal) examples play critical roles, such as defective silicon wafers resulting from a new semiconductor manufacturing process and rare but severe complications (e.g., kidney failure) among diabetes patients.

Jingrui He

Lueg to join iSchool faculty

The iSchool is pleased to announce that Christopher Lueg will join the faculty as a professor in January 2022. He is currently a professor of medical informatics at the Bern University of Applied Sciences in Biel/Bienne, Switzerland.

Christopher Lueg

Why is a past attempt to ban 'Beloved' from a high school curriculum a political issue now?

Newly elected Virginia Republican Gov. Glenn Youngkin ran a campaign ad featuring a mother who eight years ago tried to ban Beloved, the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by Toni Morrison, from her son's advanced placement high school English class. Youngkin's use of the ad has generated a discussion about banning books. Emily Knox is a professor and the interim associate dean for academic affairs in the School of Information Sciences, the author of Book Banning in 21st-Century America and editor of Trigger Warnings: History, Theory, Context. She talked with News Bureau arts and humanities editor Jodi Heckel.

Emily Knox