Join us at the 2018 ILA Annual Conference

The 2018 Illinois Library Association (ILA) Annual Conference will be held from October 9-11 in Peoria. The theme of this year's conference is "Libraries: All Inclusive." Visit with the iSchool at Booth #315 in the Exhibit Hall on October 10 and 11. The School will also host an alumni breakfast on October 11. 

Please join iSchool faculty and students at the following presentations and events: 

MS/LIS Leep student Marisa Brooks, electronic resource specialist at Illinois State University's Milner Library, will be one of the speakers at the session, "Library Connections: The Heart of Building Community," at 2:45 p.m. on Tuesday, October 9. Brooks and her colleagues will share their experiences with building community at Milner Library and offer opportunities for participants to do the same.

MS/LIS Leep student Becky Oberhauser, associate teen librarian at the Cary (IL) Library, will present her poster, "Maker without the Space: Creating a Maker Community in any Library," at 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday, October 10. Her poster describes how her library has managed to build a loyal Maker Club despite their lack of equipment and dedicated space.

Associate Professor Emily Knox will copresent "Censorship: Looking in the Mirror Part 2" with Dennis Krieb (Lewis & Clark Community College) at 1:45 p.m. on Wednesday, October 10. During this session, they will focus on academic library responses to factors that create pressures for self-censorship in the selecting and purchasing of materials.

Adjunct Lecturer Jeanne Holba Puacz will present "Power to the (Young) People!" at 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, October 10. In her talk, she will discuss how libraries can offer assistance and guidance to young people on their journey to becoming active citizens and agents of change.

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Stodden discusses reproducibility at White House conference

Associate Professor Victoria Stodden presented her research on reproducibility at the White House National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) Conference, "Building Bridges Across the S&T Enterprise," which was held on June 13-14 at the National Institutes for Health in Bethesda, Maryland. The conference brought together science and technology (S&T) leaders to share best practices and build collaboration across the Federal S&T enterprise.

Victoria Stodden

Join us at the 2019 ALA Annual Conference

The American Library Association (ALA) will hold its 2019 Annual Conference and Exhibition in Washington, D.C. on June 20-25. Visit with the iSchool at Booth #3205.

Weech to speak on LIS accreditation at CoLIS

Associate Professor Terry L. Weech will discuss the accreditation of library and information studies (LIS) programs at the Conceptions of Library and Information Science (CoLIS) 10th international conference, which will take place on June 16-19 in Ljubljana, Slovenia. The conference aims to provide a broad forum for the exploration of ideas in the field of LIS, information studies, and related disciplines.

Terry L Weech

Bosch presents research on measuring learning outcomes at UMAP

Assistant Professor Nigel Bosch presented his research and served as a session chair at the ACM Conference on User Modeling, Adaptation, and Personalization (UMAP), which was held June 9-12 in Larnaca, Cyprus. UMAP is an international conference for researchers and practitioners working on systems that adapt to individual users and groups of users and that collect, represent, and model user information. The theme of this year's conference was "Making Personalization Transparent: Giving Control Back to the User."

Nigel Bosch

Recent graduate develops new open-access journal for anime and manga studies

During his time at the iSchool, recent MS/LIS graduate Billy Tringali established and launched the Journal of Anime and Manga Studies (JAMS), an open-access publication dedicated to providing an ethical, peer-reviewed space for academics, students, and independent researchers to share their research in the field of anime, manga, cosplay, and fandom studies. A fan himself, Tringali has been drawn to popular culture scholarship since he was an undergraduate studying English and anthropology at Bridgewater State University in Bridgewater, Massachusetts.

Billy Tringali