Hoh serves as panelist at the Frankfurter Buchmesse

Monica Hoh

MS/LIS student Monica Hoh was invited by the Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP) to participate in the Frankfurter Buchmesse (Frankfurt Book Fair). The event, which was held October 16-20 in Frankfurt, Germany, is the world's largest trade fair for books and draws more visitors than any other book fair.

Hoh won a five-day business and conference ticket to the Frankfurter Buchmesse through her SSP Fellowship. SSP and its blog, The Scholarly Kitchen, presented two sessions at the book fair, exploring the latest industry developments and the current state of Open Access (OA) monograph publishing. Hoh served as a panelist for the session "What’s Hot and Cooking in Scholarly and Academic Publishing."

"After my session and throughout the rest of the week, I was able to attend other panels, presentations, and events at the fair," Hoh said. "I was fortunate to not only listen to Mary Bates' keynote lecture on Artificial Intelligence but to meet and talk with her. I also toured the Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (German National Library), unexpectedly meeting fellow cataloging colleagues."

Hoh appreciated the opportunity to witness the business and trade aspects of the book fair as well as the public fair experience. She enjoyed reconnecting with individuals she met at the SSP annual meeting as well as meeting librarians and other publishers.

Hoh's research interests include metadata/cataloging, youth services, and diversity in LIS and she holds a graduate assistantship in the Office of Information Literacy at the Main Library. She earned her BA in theatre and women's studies from Colgate University. 

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Barbosa and Wang receive Facebook grant to design privacy controls for ad targeting

iSchool PhD student Natã Barbosa and his advisor Associate Professor Yang Wang have received a $65,053 grant from Facebook for their project, "In-Situ Privacy Controls of Profiling and Ad-Targeting." The goal of the project is to design a privacy control framework that makes profiling and ad-targeting more transparent to ordinary Internet users.

Yang Wang

Student award recipients announced

Each year, the School recognizes a group of outstanding students for their achievement in academics as well as a number of attributes that contribute to professional success. Congratulations to this year's honorees!

Cummings and Hackel receive Outstanding Graduate Student Award

MS/LIS students Michael Cummings and Josh Hackel have been selected as recipients of the 2019-2020 Outstanding Graduate Student Award from the University Library at the University of Illinois. Cummings works in the Scholarly Commons, providing service at the Scholarly Commons front desk and Main Library Information desk, updating web pages and maintaining social media, and providing GIS (Geographic Information Systems) support. Hackel holds two positions at the Library. At Grainger Engineering Library, Joshua covers a wide variety of responsibilities, including serving as a duty officer with supervisory responsibilities, providing reference and instruction, and supporting Virtual Reality (VR) technologies in the IDEA lab. He also works in Records and Management Services on a three-year grant project.

Adams receives recognition for nonprofit work

MS/LIS student Mia Adams' work with local and international nonprofits has earned her a Special Recognition in Graduate Student Leadership from the Graduate College at Illinois. Adams serves as director of development and board member for Three Spinners, a nonprofit organization serving refugees and immigrants in the Champaign-Urbana community.

Mia Adams

iSchool at Illinois announced as 2020 Student Chapter of the Year Award winner

The American Library Association's New Members Round Table (NMRT) Student Chapter of the Year Award (SCOTYA) Committee is pleased to announce the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as the winner of the 2020 ALA Student Chapter of the Year Award. The committee also offers congratulations to the University of Southern California as this year’s runner-up.

iSchool Building