Kilicoglu research group wins third prize in LitCoin NLP challenge

Members of Associate Professor Halil Kilicoglu's research lab won third prize, valued at $20,000, in the LitCoin Natural Language Processing (NLP) Challenge. The challenge, which was sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), brought together government, medical research communities, and data scientists to create data-driven knowledge graphs that consolidate scientific literature knowledge across domains.

The iSchool student team, composed of PhD student Mengfei Lan and Informatics PhD students Maria Janina Sarol and Haoyang Liu, was challenged with developing an NLP system with the ability to identify the concepts discussed in biomedical publications and relate them to create knowledge graphs for each publication that capture their scientific content.

"We were interested in the LitCoin challenge because it focused on extracting salient knowledge from biomedical publications, which is aligned with the research we do in our lab," said Sarol, the team lead. "Furthermore, the challenge was organized by NIH/NCATS, and they have plans to incorporate the models developed into their workflows, which is likely to increase impact. The fact that they also evaluated the models on the basis of reproducibility was another motivation for our participation, since this is another major research theme in our lab."

For the challenge, the participants used a NIH-developed dataset of published scientific research abstracts and knowledge assertions between concepts within these abstracts. The participants then used the dataset to design and train their NLP models to automatically generate knowledge assertions from the text of abstracts. Submissions were tested using an automated custom evaluator that compared the accuracy of results generated by the participating systems.

According to the NIH/NCATS, the LitCoin Challenge aims to help data scientists better deploy their data-driven technology solutions towards accelerating scientific research in medicine and to leverage data from biomedical publications in order to reach a wide range of biomedical researchers.

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

iSchool researchers receive Lee Dirks Award for Best Paper

A paper authored by PhD student Yuerong Hu, HTRC Associate Director for Research Support Services Glen Layne-Worthey, Alaine Martaus (PhD '19), Professor J. Stephen Downie, and Associate Professor Jana Diesner, "Research with User-Generated Book Review Data: Legal and Ethical Pitfalls and Contextualized Mitigations," has received the Lee Dirks Award for Best Paper at iConference 2023.

iSchool instructors ranked as excellent

Fifty-one iSchool instructors were named in the University's List of Teachers Ranked as Excellent for Fall 2022. The rankings are released every semester, and results are based on the Instructor and Course Evaluation System (ICES) questionnaire forms maintained by Measurement and Evaluation in the Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning. Only those instructors who gave out ICES forms during the semester and who released their data for publication are included in the list.

iSchool Building

Knox receives Oboler Memorial Award for book on intellectual freedom

Associate Professor Emily Knox has received the 2023 Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award from the Intellectual Freedom Round Table of the American Library Association (ALA). She was selected for the award, which recognizes the best published work in the area of intellectual freedom, for her book, Foundations of Intellectual Freedom (ALA Neal-Schuman, 2022).

Emily Knox

Spectrum Scholar Spotlight: Marycruz Flores Reynoso

Thirteen iSchool master's students were named 2022-2023 Spectrum Scholars by the American Library Association (ALA) Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services. MSLIS student Marycruz Flores Reynoso earned her bachelor's degree in English literary and cultural studies from the University of Oklahoma with minors in Latinx studies and Spanish.

Marycruz Flores Reynoso

McDowell to present keynote on data storytelling

Associate Professor Kate McDowell will present the closing keynote of the Measures of Success Educator Impact Series at Western Michigan University (WMU) on March 21. The virtual series, which is sponsored by the WMUx Office of Faculty Development, focuses on equity and educator impact.

Kate McDowell