Two iSchool students named ARL Diversity Scholars

Two iSchool master's students have been selected by the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Committee on Diversity and Leadership to participate in the Initiative to Recruit a Diverse Workforce (IRDW) as ARL Diversity Scholars.

Funded by ARL member libraries and EBSCO Information Services, the IRDW offers numerous financial benefits to program participants as well as leadership development provided through the ARL Annual Leadership Symposium, a formal mentoring program, career placement assistance, and an ARL research library visit. This program reflects the commitment of ARL members to create a diverse research library professional community that will better meet the needs of researchers, students, and other constituencies whose demographics and perspectives are quickly evolving.

The 2018–2020 ARL Diversity Scholars are: 

  • Christina Denise Bush, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Ben B. Chiewphasa, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Helen Y. Chu, Rutgers University
  • Reza Davallow Ghajar, University of British Columbia
  • Hadeer Elsbai, Queens College, CUNY
  • Natalia Estrada, Kent State University
  • Patrice Green, University of South Carolina
  • Joan Hua, University of Washington
  • Phillip Thomas MacDonald, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Milton Ricardo Antonio Machuca-Gálvez, Rutgers University
  • Jamie Lee Morin, University of Toronto
  • Regen Le Roy, University of Michigan
  • Janis Joyce Shearer, St. Catherine University
  • Zakir Jamal Suleman, University of British Columbia
  • Nam Jin Yoon, University of Washington
Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Jones to present at digital preservation conference

Doctoral candidate Jimi Jones will discuss his dissertation research at the National Digital Stewardship Alliance (NDSA) Digital Preservation 2018, which will be held October 17-18 in Las Vegas. NDSA is a consortium of more than 220 organizations committed to the long-term preservation and stewardship of digital information and cultural heritage, for the benefit of present and future generations.

Jimi Jones

First place win for MS/IM students’ hackathon team

Three iSchool students were on the winning team at PygHack 2018, a 24-hour hackathon that brings together coders, designers, engineers, and dreamers to work together to create something that can benefit the community or an organization in Champaign-Urbana. This year's event was held on September 29-30 at the University of Illinois Research Park. PygHack projects were judged on community benefit, collaboration, design, functioning prototype, and innovation. 

PygHack team

Kahyun Choi defends dissertation

Doctoral candidate Kahyun Choi successfully defended her dissertation, "Computational Lyricology: Quantitative Approaches to Understanding Song Lyrics and Their Interpretations."

Kahyun Choi

Phelps to discuss digital literacy initiatives at ISIC 2018

Doctoral candidate Kirstin Phelps will participate in ISIC 2018: The Information Behaviour Conference, which will be held October 9-11 in Krakow, Poland. The conference is a platform for a broad and multidisciplinary community of researchers to present and discuss how people engage with information in a myriad of contexts.

Kirstin C Phelps