Lawrence defends dissertation

Doctoral candidate E.E. Lawrence successfully defended their dissertation, "Reading for Democratic Citizenship: A New Model for Readers' Advisory," on March 28.

Their committee included Associate Professor Emily Knox (chair); Associate Professor Kate McDowell; Professor and Dean Allen Renear; and Jonathan Furner, professor and chair of the Department of Information Studies at the University of California, Los Angeles.

From the abstract: Readers' advisors are tasked with suggesting leisure reading materials to library patrons. The current discourse within the field has it that these advisors ought to adhere to (what I am calling) a pure preference satisfaction model wherein they aim to satisfy readers’ existing preferences without judging or altering them. While such an approach to Readers' Advisory (RA) is politically commendable in some respects, in this dissertation I interrogate the incompatibilities that have emerged between contemporary theory and practice as a result of librarians’ core commitments to social justice, diversity, and democracy. In so doing, I provide a critical inventory of the (in some cases intractable) tensions evident in RA service, going on to offer normative critiques of the dominant moral framework underpinning RA. In each case, I propose theoretical revisions that will help to alleviate harms associated with the problems identified. In light of the cumulative effects of these revisions, I propose an alternative aesthetic education model for RA. Drawing on insights from reader-response theory, I argue that leisure reading is valuable in part because it offers us opportunities to deliberate on our aesthetic experiences. Ultimately, I hold that RA-as-aesthetic-education functions as a dynamic forum for readers to practice democratic citizenship and thus develop its requisite character traits. The new model both furthers the overarching political aims of the public library and reestablishes continuity between theory and critical practice. 

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

iSchool researchers receive funding for napari plugin project

A new project led by Assistant Professor Matthew Turk is among the napari plugin projects that have recently received support from the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative (CZI) in its effort to advance bioimaging technologies. Visiting Research Scientist Christopher Havlin will serve as co-principal investigator on the project, "Enabling Access To Multi-resolution Data."

Matthew Turk

New project focuses on rare categories

Associate Professor Jingrui He has been awarded a three-year, $500,000 grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to develop explainable techniques to detect and track rare categories. For her project, "RareXplain: A Computational Framework for Explainable Rare Category Analysis," she will focus on real-world problems where underrepresented, rare (abnormal) examples play critical roles, such as defective silicon wafers resulting from a new semiconductor manufacturing process and rare but severe complications (e.g., kidney failure) among diabetes patients.

Jingrui He

iSchool researchers present at virtual CIRN conference

iSchool researchers presented their work at the 19th annual Community Informatics Research Network (CIRN) Conference on November 8-12. The theme of this year's conference was "Communities, Technology and This Moment." CIRN 2021 explored how researchers and practitioners ethically collect information, including what happens when community information is deliberately not collected and how information systems can be designed "in harmony with communities."

Why is a past attempt to ban 'Beloved' from a high school curriculum a political issue now?

Newly elected Virginia Republican Gov. Glenn Youngkin ran a campaign ad featuring a mother who eight years ago tried to ban Beloved, the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by Toni Morrison, from her son's advanced placement high school English class. Youngkin's use of the ad has generated a discussion about banning books. Emily Knox is a professor and the interim associate dean for academic affairs in the School of Information Sciences, the author of Book Banning in 21st-Century America and editor of Trigger Warnings: History, Theory, Context. She talked with News Bureau arts and humanities editor Jodi Heckel.

Emily Knox

Chan to lead two new projects addressing racism and social injustice

In July 2020, Chancellor Robert J. Jones announced the creation of the Call to Action Research Program to Address Racism and Social Injustice, a $2 million annual commitment by the University of Illinois to respond to the critical need for universities across the nation to prioritize research focused on systemic racial inequities and injustices that exist not only in communities but in higher education itself. On November 2, Chancellor Jones announced that 22 projects have been funded through this new program. Associate Professor Anita Say Chan will serve as a lead on two projects.

Anita Say Chan