iSchool researchers receive Lee Dirks Award for Best Paper

A paper coauthored by PhD student Yuerong Hu, HTRC Associate Director for Research Support Services Glen Layne-Worthey, Alaine Martaus (PhD '19), Professor J. Stephen Downie, and Associate Professor Jana Diesner, "Research with User-Generated Book Review Data: Legal and Ethical Pitfalls and Contextualized Mitigations," has received the Lee Dirks Award for Best Paper at iConference 2023. The award recognizes the most exceptional completed research paper presented at the iConference each year. Papers are judged by the respective track chairs, in consultation with the conference and program chairs.

According to the researchers, while the number of user-generated book reviews has increased, there is a lack of literature that addresses the legal and ethical use of these reviews. Legal issues presented by user-generated book reviews include copyright infringement and violations of terms of service/end-user license agreements and privacy rights, while ethical concerns center on users' expectations, informed consent, and institutional reviews. In their paper, the researchers discuss the potential legal and ethical pitfalls in leveraging user-generated book reviews and provide scholarly references that might serve as useful guidelines to avoid or manage these pitfalls.

"This work is inspired by the legal and ethical problems we encountered from user-generated book reviews, such as our JCDL paper with Zoe LeBlanc and Ted Underwood and CHR panel with Ted Underwood and Wenyi Shang," said Hu, who is also pursuing this topic for her dissertation.

Updated on
Backto the news archive

Related News

Seo receives grant for accessibility module

Assistant Professor JooYoung Seo has received a $5,000 grant from the nonprofit organization Teach Access to develop and implement a new accessibility module. Seo was one of 19 recipients nationwide who were awarded a faculty grant to infuse accessibility into curricula by creating "modules, presentations, exercises, or curriculum enhancements centered around the fundamental concepts and skills of accessible design and development." 

JooYoung Seo

Spectrum Scholar Spotlight: Zhaneille Green

Thirteen iSchool master's students were named 2022-2023 Spectrum Scholars by the American Library Association (ALA) Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services. This "Spectrum Scholar Spotlight" series highlights the School's scholars. Zhaneille Green holds a BA in geography and history from Clark University in Worcester, Massachusetts.

Zhaneille Green

Digital age creates challenges for public libraries in providing patron privacy

Library professionals have long held sacred the right of patrons to privacy while using library facilities, and the privilege is explicitly addressed in the American Library Association's Bill of Rights. The advent of the digital age, however, has complicated libraries' efforts to secure and protect privacy, Associate Professor Masooda Bashir has learned.

Masooda Bashir

Student award recipients announced

Each year, the School of Information Sciences recognizes a group of outstanding students for their achievement in academics as well as a number of attributes that contribute to professional success. Congratulations to this year's honorees!

Ly Dinh and Jessica Cheng

Schneider named ACM Senior Member

Associate Professor Jodi Schneider has been named a Senior Member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the world's largest educational and scientific computing society. Senior Member status is bestowed on ACM members with at least ten years of professional experience and five years of professional membership who have demonstrated performance through technical leadership and technical or professional contributions. Schneider is one of 35 new Senior Members this quarter.

Jodi Schneider