News Feed

Tilley to serve on 2020 Ringo Awards jury

Associate Professor Carol Tilley has been selected as a judge for the 2020 Ringo Awards for achievement in comic books. Tilley is part of a five-member esteemed jury representing a cross-section of the comic book industry, which includes educators, publishers, press, and creators across numerous genres. Among her fellow jury members is Gene Luen Yang, a recent MacArthur Fellow and the Library of Congress' fifth National Ambassador for Young People's Literature. Unlike other professional industry awards, the Mike Wieringo (Ringo) Comic Book Industry Awards include fan participation in the nomination process.

Carol Tilley

Adams receives recognition for nonprofit work

MS/LIS student Mia Adams' work with local and international nonprofits has earned her a Special Recognition in Graduate Student Leadership from the Graduate College at Illinois. Adams serves as director of development and board member for Three Spinners, a nonprofit organization serving refugees and immigrants in the Champaign-Urbana community.

Mia Adams

iSchool at Illinois announced as 2020 Student Chapter of the Year Award winner

The American Library Association's New Members Round Table (NMRT) Student Chapter of the Year Award (SCOTYA) Committee is pleased to announce the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as the winner of the 2020 ALA Student Chapter of the Year Award. The committee also offers congratulations to the University of Southern California as this year’s runner-up.

iSchool Building

Wickes organizes two PyCon summits

Lecturer Elizabeth Wickes has organized and will be leading virtual versions of the Python Trainers Summit on April 23 and Python Education Summit on April 24.

Elizabeth Wickes